News & Insights

Union Council Awards 2019

11 April, 2019

10/04/2019 – REPRO FREE
Presidential Citation award winner Nuttawud Nutchanat, Business Administration 2nd Year (centre) pictured with Council Award Winners (L-R) Matthew Kenneally, Marine Engineering 1st year; Niamh Cronin, Business Studies 1st year; Colm Healy, Social Care 2nd year; Jack Milne, Business Administration 4th year; Eimear Devane, Marketing 2nd year, and
Konrad Im, Community Development 2nd year, at the CIT Council Awards, at CIT on Tuesday Night which was run with the assistance of Students’ Union staff members, Mick O’Mahony, Keith Brown, Fiona Leddy and Mella Leonard, who supported the organisation of the event, along with assistance from Campus Catering staff and the Caretakers.
Picture: Michael O’Sullivan /OSM PHOTO

See pics of all our winners at this facebook link:


The Students’ Union hosted the Union Council Awards at which Class Reps were presented with Certificates of Merit in recognition of their voluntary contribution to campus life. 
This was a great opportunity to celebrate and acknowledge the hard work and dedication of these students in the presence of their family and friends. Class Reps play a very important role in the work of the Students’ Union and underpin its success in actively representing all the students of the Institute. They are the link between the Students’ Union and the wider student body and are the voice of their class. They are key to student engagement in CIT, at both a local and national level. They are also pivotal in ensuring students in their class have a sense of belonging and they are key to fostering a culture of inclusivity for our diverse student population.
The Students’ Union Sabbatical Officers, Aaron Buckley, President, Stephanie Kelly, VP Education, and Jeff Jones, VP Welfare, presented six Class Reps, who had been nominated by their class members, with awards in recognition of their ‘Outstanding Voluntary Contribution’. This year 79 nominations were received. The award recipients were:

��Niamh Cronin, Business Studies – 1st year
��Eimear Devane, Marketing – 2nd year
��Colm Healy, Social Care – 2nd year
��Konrad Im, Community Development – 2nd year
��Matthew Kenneally, Marine Engineering – 1st year
��Jack Milne, Business Administration – 4th year

Nuttawud (Zack) Nutchanat, Business Administration – 2nd Year, was awarded the prestigious Cork Institute of Technology’s Presidential Citation recognising his exceptional and outstanding service to the Students’ Union and Cork Institute of Technology – CIT

The Certificates were presented by Dr Barry O’Connor, President, Dr Áine Ní Shé, Registrar & Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dr Dan Collins, Academic Admin & Student Affairs Manager.

Union Council Awards 2019

January 26th, 2019
Granite Wordpress
5 minute read